2nd yr com/law needs sum insight from finance co-op student (1 Viewer)

jonathan__

HSC
Hi,
I've just received a letter from a senior lecturer of finance (and i'm sure many of you guys would have too) in regards to transferring to finance co-op. However, I am pretty comfortable in my com/law course as i work in a bank already, but there are benefits of co-op in regards to employment. If there is anyone out there currently doing co-op in finance, please give me some insight as to the prospects of employment, the experiences that you gain as a co-op student, and whether it is actually worth it. Catch 22 indeed...

Cheers.

Bobness

English / Law
HSC
N/A
jonathan__ said:
Hi,
I've just received a letter from a senior lecturer of finance (and i'm sure many of you guys would have too) in regards to transferring to finance co-op. However, I am pretty comfortable in my com/law course as i work in a bank already, but there are benefits of co-op in regards to employment. If there is anyone out there currently doing co-op in finance, please give me some insight as to the prospects of employment, the experiences that you gain as a co-op student, and whether it is actually worth it. Catch 22 indeed...

Cheers.
Finance coop at unsw only started in 2005. The first graduates from the program will be in 2008. Confirm here http://www.coop.unsw.edu.au/content.aspx?URL=programs/commerce/finance/finance.htm

I win thread.

ps You seem quite nonchalant of your success in attaining the coop. Granted you are already doing comm/law, however to put in things in perspective, a grand total of 5 coop places for finance are offered per year (according to a scholar) so your comment "I've just received a letter from a senior lecturer of finance (and i'm sure many of you guys would have too)" is inexplicably wanky.

Good luck with your decision though. Maybe you should speak to stephanie wow :eek:

jonathan__

HSC