• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

adv maths in a combined degree (1 Viewer)

mattk210

HSC
hi guys. Wanting to do B Sc (Adv maths) at usyd. but my parents advised me to combine it with commerce (which I agree with). Only if I combine, I'm now doing [commerce with generic science] because unlike UNSW, there's no course for [Commerce with Science(advanced maths)]. I'm told by the Usyd website that I can elect to enter the adv maths stream even in my combined course. Can someone advise me on what that actually means?

1) is it an issue to have a degree in which i studied the advanced maths units but is not actually called advanced maths? The required UAI/ATAR for advanced maths is significantly higher than that for comm/sci, does that mean I'd lose some prestige or something by not explicitly studying that subject?
2) will i be in the same classes as the advanced maths people? (I'd like to be)

much thanks in advance

lyounamu

Reborn
HSC
N/A
hi guys. Wanting to do B Sc (Adv maths) at usyd. but my parents advised me to combine it with commerce (which I agree with). Only if I combine, I'm now doing [commerce with generic science] because unlike UNSW, there's no course for [Commerce with Science(advanced maths)]. I'm told by the Usyd website that I can elect to enter the adv maths stream even in my combined course. Can someone advise me on what that actually means?

1) is it an issue to have a degree in which i studied the advanced maths units but is not actually called advanced maths? The required UAI/ATAR for advanced maths is significantly higher than that for comm/sci, does that mean I'd lose some prestige or something by not explicitly studying that subject?

much thanks in advance