Advice on choosing electives (1 Viewer)

kitty28

Having received the re-enrolment pack in the mail today I’m starting to think about choosing electives for next year. I'm studying B Medical Science but I want to do at least one unit from School of Humanities, either * India: History in the Making of a Nation, * New Ethnicities, Old Racisms, * Foundations of Asia OR * Democracy in Asia. (I know these units have nothing to do with Med Science but they seem really interesting from a personal perspective).

I have to choose two electives next year and then four more in my last year. So, I was thinking that I could choose 1 or 2 Humanities units and the rest as Science units.

Should I stick with all straight science subjects or mix it around to include units that (personally) interest me? (Don’t get me wrong… I love science and what I’ve learnt so far this year has been great!)

Cape

Forza Ferrari!
HSC
Do alteast some subjects that you *think* you will enjoy. Thats why you get so many electives. So you can personalise your degree to your liking and your own interests.

If the subjects that you want to do aren't on your home campus, then you will need to email the unit co-ordinator to get their permission to do the subject. They are pretty good, they generally allow anyone to do the subject, as long as you give them notice.

However, electives quite often clash with core subjects, especially if they are on different campuses. Its sometimes very hard to get your ideal subjects, so you can also see if you can take them externally as well.

Yup, I'm blabing now. Good luck with your subject selections :)

klh

HSC