Architecture at USYD... (1 Viewer)

the_atomium

Bastard Harbour Mastah
HSC
Hey, i'm a student currently studying Digital Arts at the ANU, but was thinking about possibly changing to architecture at USYD. I was wondering if anyone could tell me a little bit about what the course is actually like, as opposed to what the handbook says? Also, do you think that the background i'm coming from (ie: 3D work, animation, and design principles) would lend itself to the degree?

be202025

HSC
well... i'm first yr in arch at usyd
up to now the course is quite practical and we do lots of drawing (sketching, drafting etc)
there's not that much theory, coz the first 3 yrs is the Design in architecture degree, which will probably involve more design i suppose

it's a great course i hav to say, it's realli interesting
well... if u like design and drawing
i think 3D work, or CAD will be helpful, coz we are actually starting on AutoCAD (i think) nex semester

i think ur background in digital art will give u advantage in some electives such as 3D modelling etc.

xxPanDa

HSC
i've finanly chosen architecture
but i have one last question

is USYD a uni where it regards archi more as an art/design
or is it leaning more on the practical/constructions?

i heard UTS treats archi more like an "art", i dont want that :S

SureBluff

HSC
xXPanDa, you should have asked the people in the Great Hall for those questions, apparently from what I've heard it offers you a lot of flexibility within the Bachelor of Design in Architecture as electives.