are colour vision deficient students eligible to apply for med (1 Viewer)

onnie

HSC
hey,

i'm a student from fort street and applying for medicine in UNSW. i am colour blind ( colour vision deficient). not black and white colour blind...but i cant distinguish some shades of red, green and purple. i just want to ask whether i am still eligible to apply for medicine.

thanx

Last edited:

+Po1ntDeXt3r+

HSC
i think u can...
but ure limited to certain fields and ud still need to be assessed by faculty...

and counselled

Lexicographer

Retired 13 May 2006
HSC
Hmm I wonder if you're one of the people who went to my talk last week? :)

Anyway, you are certainly still eligible to apply. You would certainly need to contact the faculty about it though, as this impairment would impose some limitations on your practice of medicine (as Alvin said, it would preclude you from some fields but not others).

hipsta_jess

Up the mighty red V
HSC
N/A
Lexicographer said:
Hmm I wonder if you're one of the people who went to my talk last week? :)

Anyway, you are certainly still eligible to apply. You would certainly need to contact the faculty about it though, as this impairment would impose some limitations on your practice of medicine (as Alvin said, it would preclude you from some fields but not others).
I'm just curious, what kinda specialties would you be precluded from with colour blindness?

Lexicographer

Retired 13 May 2006
HSC
Hmm I honestly can't say I know. Obviously things like pathology (where the ability to distinguish subtle differences in histological tests is crucial) but perhaps other less obvious fields. Every day the field becomes more and more complex, and yet at the same time we develop new techniques to make practice both easier and more accessible (in the same way that people are finding ways to help hearing impaired people find work).

onnie

HSC