Assessment Task Help (1 Viewer)

laura-jayne14

HSC
Uni Grad
Hi all,

I am currently studying 'Speeches' as part of Module C.

I have this assessment talk and I don't really know where to start. The question is:

"Discuss how Paul Keating's 'Funeral for the Unknown Australian Soldier' and one other speech have questioned established ideas and provoked thought"

NB: this is to be recorded as a 6 minute speech.

A speech about speeches is bizarre and I am unsure how to structure it.

Any help would be appreciated. Please PM me :)

Thanks

Sent from my Lumia 710 using Tapatalk

HSC
N/A
I think that you're looking at speeches for Module B-Critical Study of Text. I'd start with some kind of statement that links your 2 speeches with the topic given-e.g."The most effective speeches are those that appeal to their audiences, both in the ideas they provide and in the passion with which these ideas are delivered. Two speeches which achieve this are Paul Keating's "Funeral Service of the Unknown Australian Soldier 1993" and ___________ since both cause us to question previously held beliefs and rethink established attitudes. Then move onto examining the beliefs and attitudes which Keating is questioning. The main difficulty I think, is that Keating is pretty much reiterating the beliefs that many Australians already hold and not really questioning established ideas. I know this isn't much help, but I suppose you could say that he denounces war, which could be seen as unusual on such a patriotic occasion, thus provoking his audience to consider the necessity of all wars and that he further provokes thought by commemorating the extrordinary sacrifices made by ordinary people. Keating obviously wants to unite all Australians but it is obvious that he wants this done in a away that does not "glorify war over peace."