ATTENTION: Seeking an english tutor/mentor. Help would be greatly appreciated :) (1 Viewer)

AVY

HSC
Hello,

I'm a year 12 student seeking some English help. I'm doing really well in all my subjects - I got an ATAR estimate of 98+ however I feel that Eng Adv is letting me down. I'm ranked 4th (my lowest rank) and I only got 79% for my trials D:

I'm not sure what my school is ranked (On a side note - how can I find that out?) but it's definitely NO where near the top. Our teachers aren't very helpful, and yes I've tried talking to them... So that's why I came here :)

Is anyone willing/know anyone that could help me out? I'm pretty good at writing so I don't need help in terms of the language/structure/writing skills, and I know my texts pretty well. I just need someone to guide and help me understand what the HSC markers require for top responses in the exam. I mainly need practice and it would be great if someone could critique my work and give me extensive feedback for the next month or so. Also, don't worry, I'm willing to pay.

These are the texts that we study:

-AOS Belonging - Immigrant Chronicles Peter Skrzynecki poetry

Module: Texts in time - Blade Runner and Frankenstein
Module: Shakespeare - Hamlet
Module: History and memory - Fiftieth Gate by Mark Baker

(Would be helpful if the person would be familiar with these texts)

Thank you, I appreciate your help/advice :)

Last edited:

plasticities

HSC
I'm only familiar with Hamlet and the 50th Gate, but I could offer some advice. Did your teachers give you any feedback after the trials? Personally I think one of the things HSC markers look for the most is structure. If you structure your essay really well it shows you can sustain a logical argument, you know what you're talking about and it makes it much easier for them to award you marks. If your teachers haven't told you much about structure, I would recommend it follow something like this:

Introduction