B Applied Finance with B of Economics (1 Viewer)

williamc

HSC
I am currently a year 12 student thinking of taking this double degree at Macquarie. I have got a few questions.

1) I have heard that App Fin involves hard maths and considering i am only an above average 2unit math student would i struggle?
2) Would the double degree have any advantage for me, when i am hoping to see a job at RBA, stock broking, government, or an economic analyst? What advantages would it possess over just a B of Economics?
3) What is the workload and content like?
4) It is hard to get a job out of uni in one of those areas? How are the job propects in the economic industry.

Luke!

Sexual Revolutionist
HSC
1) No, you'll be fine with the maths in App.Fin.

2) I think the App.Fin degree would help with stock broking and economic analysis. Although they are both complimentary degrees in a lot of ways, I think all the economic theory you'll learn in the B.Ec will be well served by the more 'grounded' and practical view of markets you'll get from the B.App.Fin.

3) B.Ec with B.App.Fin would be a fairly heavy workload. Nothing you can't handle if you're an organised person. I find the content of the economics and applied finance units to be much more interesting than anything else I have encountered so far (Law, Statistics, Accounting, etc.).

4) Your App.Fin degree would allow you to become a CFA (Chartered Financial Analyst). So it's not too hard to get work if you're a good App.Fin student. Economics is another story. If you do really well, you could get into the RBA, otherwise economists work in government formulating policies, and for trade unions. You could even work as an economic journalist. I even know of some B.Ec students working as quantitive analysts.

Last edited:

williamc

HSC
Thanks alot, a final question.

How are you assessed? Is it like in class tests and a final or presentations and a final.

Luke!

Sexual Revolutionist
HSC