• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Bachelor of Accounting (Co-op) 2016 (1 Viewer)

esaitchkay

HSC
Hi BoS,

It's that time of year again, where final year students begin to apply for cadetships and co-op programs.
I'm sure you have all seen the Cadetships 2015 thread, as well as the past threads.

Personally, I found BoS to be a great resource to discover and learn about the different cadetships and co-ops offered by firms and universities, respectively.

As my signature says, I'm a first-year university student.
Ultimately, I ended up choosing the Bachelor of Accounting (BAcc) program, for the family-like environment of BAcc, internship opportunities and scholarship.

When I was researching BAcc, I couldn't believe that you would be so closely knit, but honestly, I don't think you'll ever get a chance outside of BAcc, where you enter a lecture, on the first day, and you're already good mates with 30 great people.

In addition, you have the opportunity to network and really get to know people who've had experience and are absolutely willing to help you. It's invaluable, especially as a first year student, to find out what you really want to pursue.

So what is BAcc?
It's a 3 year business degree, which includes 2 x 6 month industry placements at two of our 20+ sponsors.
These sponsors are not just accounting firms, but also include banking, property and commercial firms!
It also includes a $46,500 scholarship (tax-free!) over the three years which you are a BAcc.
Historically, there has been a 95% graduate employment rate.

If you have any questions regarding BAcc directly, please post here (for the benefit of others!).
If there are any other cadetship/co-op queries, feel free to either PM me, or post in the cadetship thread, where you'll receive a bunch of answers!