Bachelor of Political, Economic and Social Science - advice needed (1 Viewer)

Bongos

HSC
Hi

I was wondering if you have exams ? Mid year and/or mid semester

Also, what is your major and what do you study ?

Is Economics hard?

usyd_

HSC
Hi,

I am in my third year of this degree - it's been great and I highly recommend it, great lecturers, facilities, units and resources.

Exams - whether or not you have exams depends entirely on the lecturer who delivers the course and their assessment preferences. Generally speaking though, yes there will be exams (I've always had at least three per semester). Take-home exams are also quite common in the social sciences, so you get say two essay questions that you complete within maybe 4-5 days (obviously referencing/research requirements are not quite as high). Mid-semester exams are pretty rare, although you might get the occasional 'quiz' worth up to 20%. In my experience, you can generally expect to complete four assessments for each unit - an exam of sorts, tutorial participation, a major research essay and a shorter research essay/review/presentation.

I am doing a major in Political Economy - which I have really enjoyed (I've only really struggled with one unit), I've also done a fair bit of Anth and Govt which complemented my major well. Political economy is essentially heterodox economics with an international focus, taught from a social sciences perspective, meaning much more of a focus on critically analysing the mainstream as well as the philosophy of economics, as in what it is trying to achieve and the implications. There are general core units you take to do a major and they focus on the international economic system, history of economic theory and economic policy. Plus quite an array of electives covering everything from economic data analysis (if you want some practical skills), to human rights and development.