Bankcard Visa Mastercard (1 Viewer)

Tuna

HSC
N/A
Does anyone know which bank offers a Savings card(not credit) which is listed as Bank, Vis, Mast.

Tuna

HSC
N/A
Yes I wonder are there any other banks with a debit visa or mastercard

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad
Yeh it does.

I heard NAB might offer it.. but not sure. I like using my St george card- it's good value.

Tuna

HSC
N/A
what are the interest rate and benefits with st georges?

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad
Haha you don't use this for the int. rate gains, but the benefits are fee-free eftpos transactions (unlimited) because you use the Visa network. As a student, I think all my account keeping fees are waived, but I am not entirely sure.

... I know a few banks have a form of investment system where you use online banking and can transfer money into a special account whereby it gains interest at the market rate (5+% p.a) calculated daily paid monthly but the funds cannot be used as easily as the normal savings; but I'm not sure if St George has this facility. You might want to call them or walk into a branch?

Warning, it's expensive to use your card overseas. I withdrew about $500 whilst on holiday, and they charge a $4 flat rate, plus 3% of whatever you withdraw! Sure the conversion rate is whatever the exchange rate is, the 3% just kills it.

em_516

bludging..
HSC
seremify007 said:
Haha you don't use this for the int. rate gains, but the benefits are fee-free eftpos transactions (unlimited) because you use the Visa network. As a student, I think all my account keeping fees are waived, but I am not entirely sure.
for students, fees are waived but i'm pretty sure the transaction fee is waived up until 10 transactions (unless you have more than $5000 in your account, in which case you have unlimited fee-free transactions) but the cost isn't very much i think anyway.

info on the account:
http://www.stgeorge.com.au/accounts/transaction/freedom_student.asp?orc=personal