Box Hill Institute of TAFE (1 Viewer)

BronwynKate

HSC
Hi everyone. It's good to see the TAFEs are getting equal time on BoredOfStudies.

I started at Box Hill in June 2002, from the mid-year intake. I am studying Professional Writing and Editing. Originally I took the Certificate IV but over the past two years I decided to do the Diploma. The Certificate IV is ten points and the Diploma is 18 points, and it's more transferable to university, like if I wanted to go to Deakin or La Trobe, neither of which are particularly attractive to me. I'd rather go to Monash or Melbourne and get some work experience in the editing and publishing industry.

It was basically a choice between Swinburne (two local campuses and one sort of local) and Holmesglen and Chisolm and Box Hill. I had always known of Box Hill, they were the first to have my course there and they were able to produce graduates who are in all sorts of interesting jobs in writing and editing.

Would like to hear from other Box Hill students or graduates.

If you're considering going to Box Hill or any other TAFE you can ask me what questions are on your mind. Thank you.

kami

An iron homily
HSC
N/A
I was just wondering, does Box Hill have a distance ed. program for these writing courses? Because I wouldn't mind supplementing my current course with some indust. related work in writing.

BronwynKate

HSC
There are lots of specific industry courses - introduced this year.

EG corporate writing

and Internet skills for writers

and public relations too or something along those lines.

The course only gets you qualified in Victoria; I'd like to warn you. That is to say, the recognition.

And small press publishing is really good, even though you can't do THAT off campus!

kami

An iron homily
HSC
N/A
BronwynKate said:
They do it off-campus, yes.

I am sure you will love it.

Look here:

http://www.bhtafe.edu.au/Courses/Indexes/Distance.htm