Can you get better at maths (1 Viewer)

Triage

HSC
N/A
I'm really depressed because I feel like I'm not good at maths. I've wanted to study a bachelor of science (advanced maths) for a while, but only recently I have realised that I'm not that good at maths.

I can understand every concept (4 unit) and execute everything on a good level across the board. But whenever I get to a higher level question, a question that I would describe as problem solving, I find it very difficult to 'see' what I need to do. I don't 'see' things. Can I get better at it? :( :(

Thanks for any help

HSC
I am in your situation, too.

You just need practice. Look for unfamiliar/more challenging problems. If you don't 'see' things at first, leave it for a couple of hours, or even days. Come back, and see if you have any ideas.

A good place to start is with definitions. E.g. prove that the area subtended by the normals on an ellipse is constant - start with the normals, definition of 'constant', how you actually get the area etc. The questions will ultimately give you enough guidance (this is the HSC), so start with that.

Don't look at the answers immediately if you don't 'see' it. You won't improve this way.

HSC
You're obviously very good at maths if you can understand every concept and apply every concept in 4 Unit maths! Don't worry and put too much pressure on yourself, as this may have an adverse effect on your abilities to execute 'higher level questions'.

seanieg89

HSC
I'm really depressed because I feel like I'm not good at maths. I've wanted to study a bachelor of science (advanced maths) for a while, but only recently I have realised that I'm not that good at maths.

I can understand every concept (4 unit) and execute everything on a good level across the board. But whenever I get to a higher level question, a question that I would describe as problem solving, I find it very difficult to 'see' what I need to do. I don't 'see' things. Can I get better at it? :( :(