Circle Geo. Help Pls (1 Viewer)

ttong

HSC
Hey all, im still a noob at circle geo. and cant seem to get the following question and would really apperciate some assistance:

Find the length of the common chord of two intersecting circles whose radii are 15cm and 13cm and whose centres are 14cm apart.

Cheers

ronnknee

Live to eat
HSC
24 cm

There may be another easier method but this came up to my mind first

Last edited:

peckerhead

HSC
N/A
lets use the diagram above.

The 13, 14, 15 triangle has an area of 84. (Heron's rule*)

So the height (half of the common chord ) is 12.

Hence 24.

<?xml:namespace prefix = v ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:vml" /><v:imagedata o:title="" src="file:///C:/DOCUME~1/chris/LOCALS~1/Temp/msoclip1/01/clip_image001.wmz">*A =Sqrt[s(s-a)(s-b)(s-c)] . a, b, c are the three sides and 's' is the semi perimeter.</v:imagedata>
<v:imagedata o:title="" src="file:///C:/DOCUME~1/chris/LOCALS~1/Temp/msoclip1/01/clip_image001.wmz">In this case P = 42 hence s=21</v:imagedata>
<v:imagedata o:title="" src="file:///C:/DOCUME~1/chris/LOCALS~1/Temp/msoclip1/01/clip_image001.wmz">A=sqrt[21*8*7*6)=84</v:imagedata>

ttong

HSC
Thanks a heap guys for your help, i really apprecitated it. :eek:

ronnknee

Live to eat
HSC
I don't think Heron's rule is in the syllabus
But nevertheless, it is still a quicker method of solving this question

peckerhead

HSC
N/A
Of course Heron's rule is not in the syllabus.

The syllabus is a statement of minimum requirement.

Good students will have no problem soaking up simple formulae such as this and using them to their advantage. This is where good teaching come to the fore. Teachers need to know far more than the syllabus and promote it where necessary. Kids will not be interested just for the sake of it, but if they can see is going to be beneficial to them they will lap it up.