Clarinet for 2007 HSC (1 Viewer)

crono26

HSC
Well Who's doing playing Clarinet? Im doing Music 2 and Ext... Been playing clarinet for 5 years and just completed AMus.

If so whats your program like? I'm pretty pschyed for it but going away for 3 weeks now... hate to think what my embrouchure will be like when i get back!

My subjects are 3u english, 3u maths, 3u music, 2u chem and 2u phys...

anyone wants to chat about it, add me jjaammeess@gmail.com..

babylupin

HSC
lol i play clarinet...although i've been playing for about 2 years...yet luckily just completed my grade 6 (i got an A! yay *dances*)
you're obviously much more experienced grade wise than me lol
i do 3 unit music, Ad. English, Ancient History, Bio and Chem

what are you doing for your extension music?

jdevlin

annoyingly calm
HSC
Doing 8th Grade Clarinet... Music Ext...

What pieces are you playing?

For Core I"m playing the first movement of Brumby's Sonatina

For Extension
I'm playing the first Movement of Weber's F Minor Concerto

2nd Movement of the Mozart K.622
And a piece by a Gypsy group called DOCH... the Monkey, it's in 11/16 and is the most psycho piece for Clarinet ever. Not an Exaggeration... Rebecca Craner, who's their Clarinet is ridiculously amazing... sadly I'm not as good as her, so the piece isn't nearly as cool... but nonetheless

You're a fellow Clarinet, so I'll tell some cool things I've learnt recently...

1) Get a Hold of "Clarinet and Clarinet Playing" by David Pino, it's a brilliant book with some really useful tips, especially if you're like the majority of Clarinetists and MsSuck at tonguing

2) Van Doren make a box...a very useful box... It's a reed case, but it's a controlled humidity box... It's completely got rif of most of my reed problems... you should have a look

Last edited:

quadrian

HSC
Hey! I did Music extension on Clarinet as well - Purely performance - sort of bad idea as i got tired by the last piece and messed it up a bit....

Pieces were: