Dentistry...how to get in? (1 Viewer)

Line|z0r

Hello, I am a yr 11 student who is about to enter yr12 next term. I have almost finished our preliminairy exams. My current subjects are
-3unit maths (2U + ext1)
-Advanced English
-Physics
-Chemistry
-Software Design and Development
Total: 11 units.

I did my 3 unit test on friday and I don't think I went very well. This year I felt that I didn't do all that well, I got 57% in the half yearlies. Anyhow, I am considering dropping 3U maths, and going down to 2U. I am considering because I was thinking; If I do reasonably well in all my other subjects, apart from 3U maths, will 3U maths be counted in my UAI? And if it is...will it boost/scale my marks a lot higher? If it doesn't improve my UAI, then I think it will just create more work for me, when in fact it won't do much good, esp, if it is not counted.

Has anyone else had this experience, or know of how much 3U helps your UAI?

I am really excited about going to Uni and studying Dentistry if I can get into it...I don't completely understand how you need a UAI of 99 (98 if u pay upfront) and also need 1 year of uni (basic science course). What UAI do you need to get into that basic course? When you finish that course (and pass) does it boost your UAI? I ask this because I do not think I can get 99
I think a high eighty score would be around my limit. I have read a little about upgrading etc, but I don't fully understand. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

-Line|z0r

sukiyaki

emptiness
HSC
your in yr 11, going into yr 12 SO you got plenty of time! Dont drop 3unit... unless ur failing really bad.. I was doing really bad in yr 11 and considered dropping but i didnt My marks did improve overtime.. but thats really depends on yourself. 3unit pushes your uai then most subjects so its pretty high in scaling..

i fink your asking about graduate dentistry at sydney?
juz get into Usyd in some course and then 2nd yr apply for it.. Im not sure abt the uai part thoz..