Do I need a laptop for uni? (1 Viewer)

trolface

HSC
Uni is starting soon and I'm not sure if I need a laptop for uni. I'm doing a degree in actuarial studies and have a desktop at home for myself. So do I really need to take a laptop to uni or can I manage notetaking with pen and a notebook?

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad
Use a notepad and print out the materials that you need.

IMO if I were doing uni again the only thing I would want is an iPad or tablet to carry around electronic versions of the course material and access to the net. I would still take notes manually.

OzKo

Retired
HSC
Uni Grad
Use a notepad and print out the materials that you need.

IMO if I were doing uni again the only thing I would want is an iPad or tablet to carry around electronic versions of the course material and access to the net. I would still take notes manually.
I agree with this.

Laptops are only useful if you are under the pump, and don't have much time to do your assignments at home.

enoilgam

HSC
Uni is starting soon and I'm not sure if I need a laptop for uni. I'm doing a degree in actuarial studies and have a desktop at home for myself. So do I really need to take a laptop to uni or can I manage notetaking with pen and a notebook?
You need a reliable computer at home obviously, but taking a laptop in is pretty much a waste in my view. Good old pen and paper is all you need I think.

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad
Don't forget that carrying a laptop will only slow you down as you run between classes, and you wouldn't want to be so dependent on it that if yours ran out of battery (say because it didn't go to sleep mode when you thought it did) then that could really ruin your day.