dropping law (1 Viewer)

misericordia

Confused Member
HSC
Uni Grad
hia everyone, i'm studying psychology and law, and i'm a second year student.
i was just wondering how bad it is to get Ps in law? because all the assignments i've done (not including class participation, etc) are all Ps, few were low Crs... whereas i'm getting high Crs, Ds and occasionally HD in psychology... i don't really know if law is worth continuing if all i'm going to get are Ps. i'm not thinking of practicing law in future, and i'm interested in working as a clinical psychologist. any advice would be much appreciated! :)

Marmalade.

HSC
N/A
If you're sure that you want to be a psychologist, then all that matters is that your psych grades are good enough to get you into honours. Do as well as you can in law as well, but focus on psychology.

Lara1986

HSC
You're only in your first semester!

Don't let your marks be the sole determining factor in a decision to continue or not - i know a lot of people who got Ps in first semester but thereafter got Cs and Ds as their usual marks.

If you don't want to do law, then don't do it - but make that decision based on what you want to do with your degree - as Marmalade said, as long as your marks in psych are good enough to progress then that's all that matters really.

You'd be surprised at how much a law degree can come in handy in other professions and can open up career opportunities for you - eg your knowledge of law may allow you to venture into legally related psych areas.

MichaelJackson2

Moonwalker
HSC