Early Entry and Accommodation at UC? (1 Viewer)

ando08182

HSC
Just starting to have a look around at possibly unis to go to, and just wanted to find out about early entry and about accommodation on campus which is the best one to live in in regards to social activities, how good the actual bedrooms are in the apartments etc. I'm weighing up between a few unis at the moment to do sports science :) And if there is anyone else considering going to Canberra and maybe thinking of doing sports coaching/science let me know! :)

booshbanditxx

HSC
Uni Grad
I'm in my first year at UC and love it! A lot of people I speak to at uni are doing sports science. :)

I got in with early entry and deferred. It's known as the Principal's Recommendation Scheme. All that is required is that you fill out a super simple form (pretty much just name, school, and course), get your principal to sign it, send it off, and have your preferred UC course as your first UAC preference. The form is easily found UC's website under the future students tab.

I live on res too. I'm in Old Res, so I'm a bit bias :) Old Res is really recommended for freshers. There's always lots of social activities, and if you do end up going to UC, definitely go to Fresher's Week, it's how I made most of my friends. The buildings of Old Res are kinda dated, and the rooms are small, but I've found that they do the job just fine. Benefit of Old Res is you get your own mirror and hand basin in your room so you don't have to share that with the rest of your floor, which is 12 - 13 people. Old Res is also the most value for money, in my opinion.
Globo is nice and flashy and newish, also recommened for freshers, you only share with 5 people in those apartments, but from what I can tell no way near as 'close - knit' as Old Res. They also don't have ovens. I think the rooms are bigger, but quite pricey.
UV is also good for freshers, most affordable, sharing with 12 people, but they're demountables. So yeah.