Economics Degree (1 Viewer)

zehurricane

Capitalism, Ho!
HSC
How hard is it and What math is use in 1,2 and 3rd year??

Might transfer next year for Econ and Law combine degreee..

Is there a free bridging math course in USYD?

danal353

HSC
I'm currently in first year and doing an economics degree. I did 2 unit maths for hsc and was also concerned about the level of maths at uni. So far the maths isn't too bad, they assume 2Unit knowledge and introduce 3 unit stuff like factorials in stats. But then again, it's first year.

To do economics, you have to major in either economics or econometrics and econometrics is pretty much stats all the way through. Personally, I don't think I could handle it - in both an intellectual sense and the fact that I find stats dead boring. But since I would've majored in economics under commerce anyway, it doesn't really matter for me.

I'm not sure about the free bridging course, but if you did at least HSC 2U maths, it shouldn't be a problem for you. Hope this helps!

HSC
N/A