Favourite historian? (1 Viewer)

snakeoils

Why do I have this?
HSC
Who has been your fave historian so far? Mine is probably Tuchman, and my least favourite would be Elton.

malayz_angel

Yeah, Tuchman was good, she had some interesting things to say. I studied von Ranke and he was pretty influential but I think he was too obsessive concerning objectivity, especially as he was biased in that he was pro Prussian. I also don't mind Herodotus-- yeah he may be old 'ancient' actually, but he was like the father of history and he had no one to base his ideas on, so that makes him pretty cool.

snakeoils

Why do I have this?
HSC
i didnt get the chance to do von Ranke... but i managed to quote him in my assessment task yesterday :)

how did you study your historians? we started off with some basic ones like Tuchman, Elton, Becker, Gibbon... etc, and then moved on to more specific ones like feminist, marxist, revisionist... ending with some controversial ones like Windshuttle and his whole "aboriginal massacres never happened" thing...

oh dear...

we're just going through the book of sources systematically, answering questions on each of the historians and then discussing it for 2 hrs a week - we do talk about the whole 'feminist, marxist, revisionist' thing as well, but sort of as it comes up in conversation?!? other schools sound so much more structured.

we do an essay once a month on the what is history theme, with example hsc questions, and one of them is getting marked by a teacher from another school - should be good to see what they think!

(my favourite is trevelyan...why isn't one of his essays in the source book?!? will have to find a longer, more complicated one on the net i guess...)

snakeoils

Why do I have this?
HSC