• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Finsia & Accounting Vac Work (1 Viewer)

Maori

HSC
Hi guys,

I got a serious question I wanna ask. I completed my Commerce degree majoring in economics last year, and got accepted into Honours. However, for certain reasons I took the year off to earn some money and deferred it til next year. I decided to take the FINSIA course throughout the year to keep up my studying skills and will have a majority of it done by the end of the year. Also, being in the workforce, it quickly became clear to me that having a major in finance rather than eco makes you a lot more employable.

Anyway, I've now decided to apply to the Big 4. There are very few areas available to Eco majors. What I am curious about is whether they would see FINSIA studies as being equivalent to a Finance major at Uni, and whether I could then apply to areas requiring Finance majors?

What are all your thoughts on this?

turtleface

HSC
wow are you sure there are far less opportunities for Economics grads than Finance grads? Or do you mean only if you don't have a Honours in economics?

I can think of VERY few jobs that actually require a Finance major. Maybe trading and stock broking. For the others an Economics or accounting major is substitutable

In big 4 a lot of the corporate finance people do GradDip AppFin&Inv after they start working, so you may be able to go there. The other option I can think of is the quantitative Risk management areas.

Maori

HSC