Guitar anyone? (1 Viewer)

mack

Banned
HSC
I was hardcore until the HSC year. I just release stress by tuning all strings down a perfect fourth, and bringing the mosh with 32nd note speedpicking in the diminished scale.

timrie6

HSC
N/A
yeah, acoustic
I did it to escape studying too sometimes but I stopped for a long time after the music performance exams- so sick of it.
but now I'm back into it. I sing aswell

Shmacka

Toongabbie, Sydney, NSW, Australia, Earth, Galaxy,
HSC
Nice. I guess i could say im still learning basics. Dont know many chords, just ones that i stumble across really. I'm self taught mostly, but my neighbour got me onto the music scence and he teaches me stuff whenver we have a jam. Im getting heaps better but im still way off him...

My goal atm is to play QOTSA - Mosquito song. Its shitting me, i just need to tick at it a bit to get the rhythm going. Then when i get that maybe Stairway to H or Classical gas.

Just learnt 3 Days Grace - I Hate.....yada yada. I can play whole song so im chuffed.

Whats the last one you have learnt?

timrie6

HSC
N/A
last one was one i wrote myself.
and the last cover i learnt was..
probably my hsc songs:

radiohead- karma police
radiohead- fake plastic trees
missy higgins- scar
the superjesus- so lonely

once you learn some of the theory you can work most of the chords out

Jase

HSC
I just don't get guitar theory. Actaully.. i just don't get my teacher.
For about two years, i didn't know what the hell he was on about when he kept talking about "chromatics".. because he told me,' it's a hard concept to grasp', so i put it at the back of my head thinking it was some kind of super-intermediate scale. haha..

Well, theory can go screw itself. Play with the soul. and occassionally make up some chords from feeling rather than arpeggios. theory just isn't the same as the music itself, just like how you can't describe a painting with words the same way you can see it.