Help Crime!! (1 Viewer)

manifestation

What?!
HSC
Hello folks,
Need help with this Crime key question from the syllabus:

What are the implications of plea-bargaining for the notion of justice for the accused, the victim, the community and the efficiency of the court?
I’m guessing this question is addressing things like:
- rights of the victim and justice
- Community and how they want justice to be achieved and plea bargaining overshadows the fight for justice?
Just wondering if anyone can give me some ideas and answer or points to concentrate on :) my trials are on for legal in 4 days that’s why I just want to make sure im on the right track when I am studying.

thanx ciao

Last edited:

goan_crazy

Hates the waiting game...
HSC
from my notes:
what is it:
PLA BARGAINING:
Does not officially occur in NSW but happens informally. Defendants agree to plead guilty to a less serious offence if the police drop a more serious charge.
This at least ensures a conviction.

PLEAS:
A defendant can plead guilty or not guilty
If guilty, the matter is set down for sentencing only. Defendants can change their plea during proceedings from not guilty to guilty.
A guilty plea results in a quicker hearing and possibly a lighter sentence.

• the nature of the criminal trial
- innocent until proven guilty
- STANDARD OF PROOF: beyond reasonable doubt
- BURDEN OF PROOF: with prosecution

Bring up the court system:
we use the adversarial system
ADVERSARY SYSTEM: system used in Australia where opposing sides argue case against one another in the courtroom, independent judge and jury
- PROBLEMS WITH THE ADVERSARY SYSTEM:
o Time delays
o Often involves high costs
o Wealthy can gain better legal representation
o Costs are high
o Tries to find someone guilty rather than determine all the circumstances and other possible offenders.

some other info related to this u mite like 2 use:
- SUMMARY HEARINGS: quick, cost effective, max penalty: 2 years (3 years for 2+ convictions)