Help on course choice... (1 Viewer)

dsam

HSC
Hey everyone,

I am a WA high school student and moving to Sydney next year. I would like to enter uni and I need help on which course to do that suits my interest. My passion is to become a humanitarian/welfare/charity worker that will lead to such major organisations like Red Cross and UNICEF. I currently have 2 courses that I have found that may help me reach that goal:

1. Bachelor of Global Studies – Univeristy of Sydney UAI: 2007 – 90.90

http://www.arts.usyd.edu.au/degrees/globalstudies/Index.html

(enter in search for more detail)

2. Bachelor of Social Science - Humanitarian and Peace Studies – University of Western Sydney UAI: 2007 – 60.00

http://yourfuture.uws.edu.au/ug/social_sciences/humanitarian_peace

Now as you can see, the UAI score is a significant gap between the two courses. But UWS has a more specific course than the higher expectations of UniSyd in regard to my career goal. Although what are the advantages of studying Global Studies? Will it be better in giving me a broader career opportunity? I would like you to read the course outline and provide any feedback and honest opinions (also - other recommended universities appropriate for my goal?) My TEE/TER mark in WA aren't all that crash hot either lol.

To conclude, I have read many posts on this forum regarding the quality of UWS regarding social facilities and accomodation. I would like these 'rewards' but they seem to be more evident I n University of Sydney. What are people's thought's on this?

Any help is much appreciated. Thank you.

:)

RTTTYTR

HSC
dsam said:
Hey everyone,

I am a WA high school student and moving to Sydney next year. I would like to enter uni and I need help on which course to do that suits my interest. My passion is to become a humanitarian/welfare/charity worker that will lead to such major organisations like Red Cross and UNICEF. I currently have 2 courses that I have found that may help me reach that goal: