• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

HSC marks ? (1 Viewer)

lanamariie

HSC
heey you guys, please answer me honestly !

I am studying through distance education and I live overseas. I was given the choice whether to sit my exams where I am or back in Australia. I was wondering if sitting the exams here affects my hsc mark in any way ? Also, how is the hsc mark calculated. When they say the hsc mark is 50:50 between the exam mark and the assessment mark does that mean that only 50% of the marks i get from the exam count ?

also, say if i got 75% on an assignment in school, once that it passed on to the board of studies does that change ? like do they moderate it for all student across the state to be fair because some schools mark harder than the other?

Please explain.. I have to decide where i want to sit soon and i need to know if It'll affect my mark even though im sitting it here still under my school name?

powlmao

Banned
HSC
Wait. Where do you live??

I didn't think they allow students to sit it overseas

cem

Premium Member
HSC
N/A
It won't matter where you sit the exam. If you are comfortable where you are then sit them there.

As for your marks - your school will submit the final assessment marks from you assessment tasks - not task by task. That final mark is then moderated using the exam as the guide and the moderated mark is worth 50% of the final mark. The exam is the other 50% of the mark. Whatever exam mark you get will be yours regardless but your assessment mark can change to adjust it for fairness across the state - as you said to allow for different tasks and the different ways teachers mark them.

cem

Premium Member
HSC
N/A
Wait. Where do you live??

I didn't think they allow students to sit it overseas