Ignored by the science faculty? (1 Viewer)

Raginsheep

HSC
I'm enrolled in a com/sci degree atm and is it just me or does the sci faculty just ignore us? I ask this because despite recieving numerous letters from FCE, I've recieved nothing to acknowlegde my existance as a science student.....Is it because the FCE is the overriding authority for my degree?

Also, my ID card says I'm a Comm student only. Is this going to have any affect at all in the future?

renya

HSC
yeh, the science faculty ignore us, but i might drop by tomorow anyway and learn science/grab freebies.

Raginsheep

HSC
I was disappointed especially when the science dept was giving out free lunches one advisory day but you needed a coupon which they sent out in the mail.

t-i-m-m-y

HSC
Yes, the science faculty will ignore you. Not because they want to, but because that is the rule.. Commerce/Science is administered by FCE. Interestingly enough, I'm doing Comm/Sci and my student card says BSc.

Yes, you can turn up to the science welcome. And yes, they will help with science-related enquiries eg. which subjects do I pick for my major? How do I enrol into labs etc.., but anything else such as graduation and overloading is done through the Commerce faculty

Raginsheep

HSC
If I was doing another combined degree (e.g. com/law) would there be a similar situation?

All I really want are the science freebies :p

Affinity

HSC
The pecking order is:

Law > Engineering > Commerce > Science and Arts

redslert

yes, my actual brain
HSC
Raginsheep said:
Is it because the FCE is the overriding authority for my degree?
If you had went to the info day today for commerce, they would have told you that if you have any queries go directly to FCE because your double degree has nothing to do with the science faculty.

Affinity said:
The pecking order is:

Law > Engineering > Commerce > Science and Arts
I would swap commerce and Engineering.