Internal Course Transfer at UNSW and USYD (1 Viewer)

Checkmate

HSC
Hey, so my dream course is Bachelor of Advanced Mathematics at UNSW but the guaranteed ATAR requirement for it is 95 which I'm not sure if I will be able to get so I just wanted to ask how hard it is to transfer from a normal Bachelor of Science Mathematics course to the Bachelor of Advanced Mathematics course at UNSW or USYD and if anybody here or someone you know has done so ?. If yes, what is the process is normally like?. If anyone knows how it is to transfer from a Bachelor of Science to a Bachelor of Advanced Science that would probably be helpful too since the situation seems similar.

blyatman

HSC
N/A
I graduated a while back with a Bachelor of Science (Advanced Mathematics) degree from USYD. The process of transferring shouldn't be too difficult. If you get reasonable marks in first year, you'll be able to transfer.

For USYD, the only difference between the Bachelor of Science (Advanced Mathematics) and Bachelor of Science (majoring in Mathematics) is just the name. Aside from that, there is 0 difference between them. In my opinion, the "Advanced Mathematics" degree is just a marketing ploy to attract students - the cut-off for the Advanced Mathematics degree at USYD was 99.1 (IIRC) in my year, so it attracted all the top math kids (I was in the same classes with the entire Aus IMO team).

I've attached an image from my degree, and as you can see, it just has the words "Advanced Mathematics" tacked on at the end. Aside from that, there's no differences between the two degrees when you graduate.

When it comes to getting a job, it doesn't make a difference whether you were in the "Advanced Mathematics" degree or not. The only thing that matters is that you have a major in math. So my advice is not to fret if you don't get in - just do a math major in the normal Sci degree and it literally makes no difference.

Attachments

Last edited:

Drdusk

HSC
Uni Grad