international student and law - any correlation???? (1 Viewer)

jakree_golf

HSC
i'm an international student currently finishing the HSC and am deciding what course to do at uni. i have always had a passion in laws, however, i doubt whether law would be, understanably, too difficult for me as it is a course that demands such a high level of english proficiency i have heard (i am from a non-english speaking background and only have been in Aus for two years)

Although i have internally ranked first in 3 subjects (all essay-based including economics, business studies and english esl (3rd also for ancient history)) out of the 5 i'm doing for the HSC (my school is half selective ranking around the 150s in the state), when it comes to to spoken english, i often find it difficult to precisely express my opinion.

so yeah, im just wondering whether:

1) there are many overseas students do laws at whichever uni you guys go to (but particularly UNSW and USyd)
2) there is a strong correlation between english proficiency and succeeding the course (of course there is but then to what extent??)
3) i would have any chance of success provided that i am a very dedicated and determined type of person

your opinion will be very appreciated

M@C D@DDY

HSC
jakree_golf said:
i'm an international student currently finishing the HSC and am deciding what course to do at uni. i have always had a passion in laws, however, i doubt whether law would be, understanably, too difficult for me as it is a course that demands such a high level of english proficiency i have heard (i am from a non-english speaking background and only have been in Aus for two years)