Maths advice for someone not great at it (1 Viewer)

Derkl

HSC
N/A
I'm a mature age student (not THAT old, but not fresh out of school) who didn't do maths in high school compounded by the fact that it's been years since I've ever taken a test or studied formally for it. I've been learning in my own time and have covered a good amount of integral and differential calculus, so I enrolled into MATH1011 and MATH1002 for this semester. I plan on taking MATH1005 and MATH1013 in second semester.

Is there any way I can gauge whether I'll be fine in these classes? MATH1011 had a diagnostic quiz at http://www.maths.usyd.edu.au/u/UG/JM/MATH1011/ which I could do about all of (except 1 question that I needed to review), and I also looked at MATH1011's past exams which I could do about 1/4 of on my own (I haven't covered multi-variable functions like f(x,y) so I couldn't answer any of those questions). MATH1002 I have no idea of except for the introduction to matrices I did on khanacademy which was just things like multiplying, finding inverses, and solving basic linear equations with them. I was thinking of doing MATH1014 do make it easier on me but I need 6CP maths for semester 1 and MATH1014 only runs in semester 2.

My main worries are that I've been focusing mostly on calculus in my self-study so I'm very weak on any questions relating to geometry (let me know if this is a problem, esp in MATH1002. I saw some geometry-related questions in past exams) and statistics/probability. I basically completed 92% of KhanAcademy in about 3 months over about 350 hours so I'm quite stressed hoping I've learned what I needed to.

I also tried getting into MATH1111 to make it easier on me (maybe too easy with my preparation!) but for some reason I got denied and they take forever to respond to e-mails and it seems like it'll be too late at this point to get in.

sida1049

HSC