• Want to take part in this year's BoS Trials event for Maths and/or Business Studies?
    Click here for details and register now!
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

Medical science- Getting very competitive (1 Viewer)

Tim035

HSC
I'm a med science student myself, and yes I would walk through fire to be able to transfer into medicine at some stage. But has anyone else noticed the competitive attitude arising in a lot of the students, creating the impresssion that suddenly we're back in the HSC?
I think the desire for SOO many students in the course to be in that top 10 so as to be offered the oppertunity to do lateral medicine has created a situation where I personally feel dumb for ONLY getting in the 80s for a test or assingment in comparisson to other students.

wind

HSC
There'll always be someone better...unless you're a freak :p

So just try your best without worrying about what other people get. You get what you deserve and the marks you receive are an indication of the effort you put in. Try harder and you get better marks...theoretically lol.

Uni's always been competitive though; don't think there's ever been a time when uni's been relaxing...except in first year.

If you don't get into med through a transfer, there are always othe pathways you can take that can still lead you to medicine. And even if you've exhausted all possibility of getting into med...you don't need to do med :p What do you think everyone else is doing? lol

Survivor39

Premium Member
HSC
Tim, sorry to hear that. Really, don't feel you need to compete with other students to get that top 10. It just adds more pressure to yourself. If you want to do better and get better marks, compete with yourself, not others.