Music 2 - How Did You Go??!! (1 Viewer)

be_lind_a

well i thought it was really hard..particulary compared to last papers...im not very good at music, im coming 2nd last in my class actually and should be doing music 1 but i studied heaps hard and that essay question...they really should think of something decent to 'critically analyse'......so yeah overall i think i failed if not only just passed because i didnt get the melody dictation and already know of 4 1 marks answers being wrong so woo hoo for me!!! im just praying my essay, compositiona nd performance went well!!!!!.....so howd u go

Last edited:

sambo_rambo

HSC
Yeah, i agree that it was a challenging paper, especially compared to last years. The melodic dictation was hard i thought because it was so SLOW. Oh well, last music exam ever! WOO!

Captain pi

HSC
Question 1 — Haydn (Symphony No. 96) quite good, I seem to recall that part (c) "describe the contrast between bars 87-137 and 188-237 [I think they're the barnumbers]" was difficult.

Question 2 — Cello and piano piece by Nick sounds-like-but-not-Scriabin. Melodic dictation was quite subtle and difficult but I was able to complete something resembling the score, I think. Other part "describe the use of silence and expressive techniques" should have been worth more :)p)!

Question 3 — Aaron Copland piece-that-sounded-like-it-was-Scandinavian for violin and cello. Quite interesting questions.

Question 4 — pretty predictable question.

Quite a good exam.

sambo_rambo

HSC
Captain pi said:
Other part "describe the use of silence and expressive techniques" should have been worth more :)p)!
I agree! I liked the essay question too.

lord chumpley

HSC
i thought the essay question was easy to adapt to the pieces you had. pretty general really. way better than past papers. i ran out of time on the essay question though because i talked about too much in one of my pieces =S