Need valid evidence :) to prove to my teacher (2 Viewers)

sipahi

HSC
hi guys
basically in my exam i wrote silicon was easier to dope than germanium after readin it on excel physics book ...which i cant seem to find.. and in A students guide to hsc chemistry (many people might knw the notes by this guy)
anyway i need help to prove sir silicon is easier to dope than germanium..2 valid sources :/

Thx guys...all help is appreciated

braintic

HSC
N/A
hi guys
basically in my exam i wrote silicon was easier to dope than germanium after readin it on excel physics book ...which i cant seem to find.. and in A students guide to hsc chemistry (many people might knw the notes by this guy)
anyway i need help to prove sir silicon is easier to dope than germanium..2 valid sources :/

Thx guys...all help is appreciated
I'm not an expert on this at all. But I suspect that the only reason that Silicon might be easier to dope is that there has been much more research into the use of silicon in semiconductors. Germanium semiconductors are only beginning to be used semi-extensively.

nightweaver066

HSC
Actually, schools/the marking boards don't consider Excel to be a valid source of information (heard this from one of my teachers who was a HSC marker).

This is why it's better to stick to the textbooks (them being Jacaranda, etc.) and only use information from such.

RivalryofTroll

Sleep Deprived Entity
HSC
Uni Grad
My Physics teacher says that using evidence from just 'Excel' is not valid.

That's why he emphasises on ''You should use more than 1 source of information (e.g. more than 1 textbook)'' to avoid problems.

Student's Guide is not an official source at all.

If you can find other textbooks that say so - e.g. Physics in Focus, Jacaranda, In2Physics, etc. then you could argue so.

anomalousdecay

Premium Member
HSC
SILICON IS HARDER TO DOPE THAN GERMANIUM. You got it the other way around.