Opportunity cost of doing a 5-yr combined degree (1 Viewer)

klaw

HSC
Hello, I am a recent HSC graduate interested in pursuing an accounting/finance type job in the future but have a personal interest in psychology (yes.. the same one asking about comm/psych a few threads down, but since then I've thought about the opportunity cost of combined degrees and changed my stance). I have considered doing a comm/sci course, but thought that I would probably be less employable in an accounting/finance field if I did B Commerce (Accounting)/B Sci (Psych) than if I did B Commerce (Accounting+Finance) due to the extra qualifications related to finance. Now since my UAI probably won't get me into liberal studies, the only option that leaves is a 5 yr combined degree with arts or social sci. I've sat down and thought about the opportunity cost for doing a 5 yr combined degree and it's just way too high.

By doing a 5 yr combined degree, you're studying for an extra 2 yrs when you could be working. Thus, you're losing 2 yrs work experience in addition to 2 yrs income (let's say $40k/yr so $80k total). Another factor to consider is that you have less time till you move out. For example, let's say you plan on moving out when you're 25 yrs old, so after you turn 25, you have to add rent + living costs to your expenses (let's say $25k/yr) so while you're working between 21-25 yrs old, you're saving $25k/yr of expenses. Therefore, by doing a straight comm degree, you're saving around 2 yrs worth of rent + living costs more than if you were doing a combined degree (because you're not earning any income to save).

So by doing a combined degree, you're losing 2 yrs work exp + $80k (2 yrs income) + $50k (money saved from not having to pay rent+living costs) + $10k (uni fees) which add up to around 2 yrs work exp + $140k.