Paid vs Volunteer (1 Viewer)

emilios

HSC
So I've been working part-time for the past 3 years - 1st year @ Maccas, then Woolies up until now. Thing is though that ever since I took the HSC exam period off I've been getting close to no shifts - like I'm talking 3.5 hrs a week. It's a joke. I've spoken to my managers about this like a hundred times but they're just weaselling around and not giving me straight answers. It doesn't just seem to be just me though, a couple other guys are only getting like 10 max as well.

Anyway from working in the past I've saved up around 6 grand (After spending a lot of my income).

Should I just dig into those funds to finance my going out for the next 4 months and go do volunteer work that I would enjoy (and would look amazing on my resume too) ? I'm moving out in March if I make the course I want to in QLD so I'm not too fussed about long term employment prospects.

JamesGoh

HSC
Volunteer jobs are good for building skills and experience, however you do need money to survive. I'd suggest focusing on getting a paid job first, then get a volunteer job afterwards.

Chronost

Ex CAG auditor - current CAG deal-maker
HSC
You'll be fine, just spend more wisely, you can easily do $200-300 a month and still go out regularly. Will have plenty left over + more relevant experience.

Brian1800

HSC
You already have decent experience in working with the food industry, so you should go for another food industry-based job.

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad
Do the volunteer work IMO. If it's something you are passionate about, you'll get satisfaction and probably be able to demonstrate a lot more initiative.

Crobat

#tyrannosaurusREKT
HSC