Pharmacy FAQ (1 Viewer)

profernity

HSC
Hello all.

I am a third-year pharmacy student at USyd and I have noticed a few people on this forum who may have some questons about pharmacy and what it's all about. :) In the spirit of Christmas and the festive season, I am willing to answer any questions anyone may have about particular subjects in the course, what type of practicals/tutorials are involved, what you do in these pracs, how you are assessed, what is expected of you, etc. Hopefully, this will help you understand pharmacy more clearly, and perhaps I may see you next year.

Fire away! :cool:

absolution*

ymyum
HSC
Thats right. Sing for me.

Is the workload difficult? Is there a heavy demand for gfraduate pharmacists? Which uni is best for pharmacy? Do you enjoy doing it? How much science is involved?

profernity

HSC
absolution* said:
Thats right. Sing for me.

Is the workload difficult? Is there a heavy demand for gfraduate pharmacists? Which uni is best for pharmacy? Do you enjoy doing it? How much science is involved?
1. Going solely on the number of contact hours involved, I would say, yes, the workload is quite heavy. However, if you're just looking to get a pass/credit average, then the assessments aren't so bad - in general the assessments are few and far between (meaning that the final exam is almost always worth a lot), but they tend to be mostly MCQs and short answers.

2. Demand for graduate pharmacists is high. There is always a pharmacy out there looking for a registered or pre-registered pharmacist.

3. Pharmacy is a science degree in every sense of the word, besides the one subject you do every year dealing with professional behaviour and patient interaction - and even that subject requires you to know your drugs well.

absolution*

ymyum
HSC
Why is it that pharmacy at USYD requires a combination of UAI and additional selection criteria and what is this additional selection criteria?

profernity

HSC
wind said: