PIP Survey - Popular music videos. (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliebarbeque

HSC
Hi everyone,
My name is Charlotte, I am studying Society and Culture at Hunter School of Performing Arts. For my Personal Interest Project I am researching the construction of female sexuality within popular music videos.
I was just wondering if anyone would like to assist me by filling out a survey? All information provided will remain anonymous.
Thanks guys.

Randomandy

HSC
I've taken your survey. I'd like to point out that you have a question 9 in between 7 and 8, might want to fix that. Otherwise, it was a good survey - better than mine. I'm not your average teenager, so my views may be a little different from others, but I hope it helps you in your PIP. Good luck!

Survey - The Construction of Female Sexuality in Popular Music Videos

1. Sex

Male

2. Age Group

14-17

3. Do you watch any music video programs?

Yes

4. If so, which ones?

MTV

5. Why do/why don’t you watch music video programs?
I watch them sparingly, as most contain music that is not to my tastes. However, if there is a specific video I am watching for, or if I have nothing else to do/in the mood for it, I will watch

6. In your opinion, what makes a music video appealing?
Good music, preferably original and abstaining from clichés, and an aesthetically pleasing video which isn't just the singer dancing or singing.

7(a). Do you think that a good music video can increase a songs popularity?

Yes

7(b). Why or why not?
If the video is appealing and eye-catching, preferably memorable, then it can enhance the song's popularity, but it can also impact negatively, and often the videos are sub-par.

9. Do you believe in gender equality?

Yes, unless you include chivalry, which I try to uphold.
8. When you think of female artists in popular music videos, what words or thoughts do you instantly associate with them?
Sexy, unoriginal, far too synthesised, dancing, scantily clad,