Question to Tutors/Tutoring Schools: Have you ever rejected a student? (1 Viewer)

davidgoes4wce

HSC
N/A
Question to tutors out there, have you ever rejected a student because you considered them to be 'not good enough'?

From what I have read of some of the tutoring schools in Sydney, is they have rejected students (or put them in lower classes) because they were deemed not good enough and may harm the reputation of the school. (At the end of the day its all about rankings, statistics , prestige of the company etc)

For me I don't have my choice as a tutor, I think I have learnt accept every one of them as I've come along. I've just recently accepted a student (had about 8 lessons with him so far) who scored 23.75% in his half-yearly exams in General Maths and I sometimes see it as a 'challenge' to be able to bring him to a Band 5 or 6 in the short amount of time. (its a bit different with university level tutoring as you learn to reject the tasks that you can't do or accept the ones you can do)

Last edited:

Drongoski

HSC
N/A
I understand what you are talking about, having had more years of tutoring experience than you. I have had many cases of students who have very poor foundation in maths and do not have an aptitude for maths. As not a famous tutor, I am in no position to choose whom I tutor, although I always pray I don't have to have a General Maths student. It is a torture to see your students struggling to cope with simple concepts. Sometimes, for financial constraints reasons, some parents ask: can you do 1-hour (instead of 2)? Well these struggling students are so weak in their maths that you need to spend a lot more time to go over a concept or a question. How can we rush over an explanation with such students?