References.... (1 Viewer)

sparkl3z

HSC
N/A
hey guys i don't know what to put for my references section, i've never worked at a proper job before, only considering it now since i'm free, so it sounds dumb but i don't have any references! year 12 teachers have only known me two years, and they never gave me anything beside the school telephone....would that be a reference? i've been at uni for 1 year now also, can lecturers be references too? thx

rnitya_25

Abhishek's Rani..
HSC
there are lots of people you can have as references. your school year advisor, a person who's not a relative who; kinda seen you work alot and knows you pretty darn well, even a lecturer if they know you properly. a referee basically needs to be able to say good stuff about you and good stuff about how you work in a professional manner. im sure there's someone out there who can do that for you ;)

SashatheMan

StudyforEver
HSC
N/A
ask one of yuor parents to pretend to be an employer. and give them a lastname that u dont share.

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad
Don't do that =P It makes you dishonest and could get you in trouble later on.

For me, I was fortunate to have good references from people in the industry I was applying for. You can use your family members if you think that it's a good idea- eg. my sister is an accoutant; so I had her on my list.

Try to avoid the boring ones whom know very little about you like year advisor, school principal, etc.. unless they actually do know something about you. If this is a casual retail job or something liek that, then maybe it'll be ok to use.

sarevok

HSC
Didn't your school give you a written-reference when you left yr 12?

Try getting family-friends, uni- tutors if you can - your lecturer will probalby not give you a reference, they are busy people. Faking referees is of course an option.

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad