scaling english standard, etc. (1 Viewer)

raymes

HSC
yes yes i know this thread has been posted many a time before. i realise english standard isnt scaled.

my question however regards the mark distribution (as in VERY FEW people get band 5 and 6). everyone from what ive read on various boards say its purely cause of the candidature but it seems wrong to me. to me it seems like this course is marked harder (like did anyone get a band 6 last year??). i draw this conclusion because imagine an advanced-capable person dumbing down to standard (and im SURE it must have happened to a number of candidates). would they get an equivalent or better mark than if theyd stayed in advanced. from the statistics it seems not.

dont ask me why, maybe they do it so it has the *effect* of scaling without actually saying theyre scaling

it worries me though cause im doing IT at tafe (which i now realise i shouldnt have chosen cause im a capable student) and thats sort of in the same situation as english standard. it only gets scaled down slightly but its mark allocation is terrible.

though im probably wrong its just a theory. its quite possible that only that small percentage of candidates truely deserved those top marks. thats what im hoping for anyway lol in order to do well

Xayma

Lacking creativity
HSC
N/A
It is difficult to demonstrate an elegant answer in standard, as compared to advanced. Due to the questions asked it is hard to show the necessary skills required to get a band 5/6

Ragerunner

Your friendly HSC guide
HSC
Originally posted by raymes
yes yes i know this thread has been posted many a time before. i realise english standard isnt scaled.
English Standard is scaled.

Originally posted by raymes