Seeking Some Advice (1 Viewer)

ameher

HSC
Hey guys,

i was seeking some advice regarding my commerce major. I am currently majoring in accounting however after working in an accounting firm as a cadet i have realised that accounting is not for me. I intend to pursue a career in the legal field after i graduate however i would like to keep my options open within the commerce field.

So with that, i have decided to go change my major to either economics or finance. I would like to know the level of mathematics involved in second and third year finance and economics? easier or harder then say 2-unit maths? what are the career opportunities when these are combined with law. I am currently doing introductory economics and finance subjects and enjoy economics but am unsure as to the career prospects.

Any advice would be appreciated.

randomguy777

HSC
N/A
stick with accounting, plenty of job opportunities available. although the work you may be doing now is boring, it is not representative of the work you do in your later years 30 yrs old +.

economics/finance math levels. > should be easy.
most ppl prolly do accounting/law maybe because of increasing their chances to get into investment banking or whatever tax/audit related areas.

not many job opportunities for other finance/econ though, unless you want to work in the public sector government departments?

besides if you work in accounting related area, job more stable etc and perhaps easier promotion in the private sector.

usually i tend to think econ as more involved with the government public sector, so pay rises are low but initial salaries could be a little bit higher on average than accounting(private sector jobs).

want better uncapped salary paychecks? stick with accounting.

Last edited:

ameher

HSC