Should I do Advanced English or Standard? (1 Viewer)

Year10er

HSC
I know Standard English aligns horribly, but I am not good at English. I have failed all of my assessment tasks this year, and I don't even know most of the techniques eg. cliche, jargon, etc. And if I do Advanced, I'm worried everyone in Advanced will be too smart, and I'll end up coming in the bottom 10%.

What should I do?

ameyai

HSC
Do standard. I do advanced and regret it because is so difficult for me because I'm not very good at english. Everyone is telling me "Do Advanced it scales better" They're probably right but I struggle with it and have lost my motivation to study English. You'll feel more confident if you do standard and probably do better in exams, I don't know how well that will work out for you atar wise but you can still get a band 6.

slyhunter

Retired
HSC
Standard and Advanced scaled the same but align differently just for the note.

OP, I strongly recommend you consider at least doing Advanced merely because you have't actually experienced it yet and you have the luxury of dropping back to Standard if you find it too overwhelming for you. The difficulty of choosing Standard straight up is that in case you find it too easy for you, you may find it a bit more than difficult to move up to Advanced.

RookieLaw

Audit.
HSC
Being in standard doesn't make english any easier, it's just you'll be competing with people who couldn't give a rats ass.. majority of people who don't try will always pick standard thinking it's easier.

enoilgam

HSC