• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Skating - take it up? (2 Viewers)

shady_03

Sue me....
HSC
One thing that i would really like to learn is how to skate, do tricks and stuff but ive heard sooo many horrifically fuked up stories....

Is the danger worth the excitement??? I mean, ppl bail all the time, and some are really nasty and they give up skating. Wat r ur thoughts?

klh

HSC
well you do know that people will be heavily experienced before attempting what we term "stupid tricks". a friend of a firend is a skating enthusiast and practices on a bed, mat or trampoline to get teh hang of it before staging it on ramps. and seriously, it hurts on ramps if you fall.
im just a beginner and i not confident to go on a ramp yet...you can see the chicken in me, but i dont do it everyday and practice for it so im happy with my decision.
but if you do want to skate, buy good quality and not the crappy kmart/target ones. they dont allow you to get the best technique to skate...i skate and i lean on the wheels so the wheels look wonky and cant correct it coz its a habit and the wheels a wonky and cant be bothered to change them.
rollerbalding right? i hopw i wasnt talking aobut something else,

shady_03

Sue me....
HSC
Yeah i have thought of that but its like the most exciting thing about skating is doing tricks. But since im not in any way built, i could break something really easily

I saw an "enjoi" deck in parramatta (with the panda bear on it) it was only like $99 it looked sooo mad, but a frend told me it gets wrecked wen u grind

klh

HSC
but thats the beuaty of skating....as a beginner when you learn you also build up strength in your thighs and stuff sop when you are ready to advance, its physical and psychological.