Synthesised essay- opinions appreciated (1 Viewer)

bonniejjj

HSC
Hello. This is an essay I wrote (in response to a question I made up that is adaptable.)
This is my first attempt at synthesis for Journeys (previously I had been doing it text by text.) I would really appreciate some constructive criticism. There's no need to read it all (unless you want to,) skim reading would suffice to tell me if it works. Thank you =) Oh, btw I know the names of the texts aren't underlined, when I copied and pasted it from word to here the formatting was gone.

"Imaginative Journeys take us into worlds of inspiration, speculation, and imagination."

Discuss this statement, focusing on how composers of texts represent the concept of journey.

In your answer refer to your prescribed text, ONE text from the Board of Studies Stimulus Booklet: Journeys and at least ONE other related text of your own choosing.

Imaginative journeys have the power to transport us, to take us into worlds separate from our own reality. Journeys of the imagination are closely interwoven with the inner and physical. What separates imaginative journeys from other forms is that the destination is not a physical place; rather it is a state of mind. This idea is explored in Samuel Taylor Coleridge's poems Rime of the Ancient Mariner, and Kubla Khan, Shirley Geok-lin Lim's The Town Where Time Stands Still (Text 7 in the Board of Studies Stimulus Booklet) and Marele Day's feature article The Edge of Darkness (published in The Weekend Australian, 20-21, April 2002.) Each of these texts takes us into different worlds; of inspiration, speculation, and imagination. Reading them we are transformed; we cannot help but attain a greater understanding of self, and the imaginative journey.