• Want to take part in this year's BoS Trials event for Maths and/or Business Studies?
    Click here for details and register now!
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

TAFE as credit for UNI (1 Viewer)

Synapse

hey,

i didnt get a good enough UAI to make it into uni, but i still want to go to uni... i know i should have tried harder etc etc but whats done is done and i am left with this situation.

I have already enrolled in Certificate 3 in Information Technology (Software Applications) and am going to do Certificate 4 in Information Technology (Programming) afterwards, and i will complete a diploma in i-dont-know-what to finish it all off.

My question:

is this a good way to get into uni? how hard is it to get in once i have my diploma? like do i have to get 100% in everything to make it in? or can i get away with like 80%?

thanks guys
Dylan

copious

Linbo rox my sox
HSC
put it this way, the higher your grades the better your chances are right? its all common sense. just get as much as you can and then apply for uni again. i know of a few people doing my course and they came from tafe just like yourself.

Synapse

cool thanks

well its going to take me about 2 years to get the diploma, so im looking around 2006 entry? im going to go straight to uni after tafe, no breaks or nething

jlh

sooner or later...
HSC
actually you can apply for uni after your first year of tafe, but i think you need to be enrolled in a diploma course. i know a friend of mine did accounting at ultimo and after one year, he got into b. business and commerce at uws blacktown.

carrotz

HSC
Uni Grad
yups the higher marks you get the more of chance of getting into uni. speak to the liaison person at the uni you want to tranfer into, they should be able to give ya advice on what marks you should be aiming at, the number of ppl that transfer from tafe, etc..

Ribbon