To transfer or not? (1 Viewer)

miss-smexy

HSC
Hi!

I'm in first year at Macquarie doing Commerce-Accounting/Law. I'm considering whether I should transfer to UTS to complete my degree (Not UNSW or USYD because I'm not sure whether my marks will suffice). My UAI last year would have allowed me to do law at UTS, but I chose Macquarie because at the time I thought that it'd be better for law. But now I have my doubts about MQ...

My reasons for transferring to UTS would be that:

- UTS Law has Practical Legal Training, whereas Macquarie doesn't.
- I've just finished studying Jurisprudence. It was a terrible subject and imo, a total waste of time. Also, I feel so behind compared to my other friends who do law at other unis because they've finished torts and know all sorts of law terms regarding cases etc. Macquarie, however, doesn't really place an emphasis on this in first year - and I feel like such a lostie when talking to my friends about law (although I guess I will catch up next year when I do those subjects...) :eek:
- The MQ Law course structure sucks

Reasons for NOT transferring:

- I regard Accounting at Macquarie > than Accounting at UTS
- So if I wanted to practise Accounting later, I think that it'd be better if I were to graduate from Macquarie.
- Distance to get to Macquarie < UTS and therefore less time wasted travelling.

Oh and just to give you an idea of what I'm thinking:

Ideally I'd like to practise law but if my marks aren't good enough to get into the top law firms, I also don't mind doing accounting - because I think that this would be interesting as well! Also, as I'm in my first year, I don't exactly have a clear idea yet of which one to pursue.

Last edited:

amaccas

HSC
N/A