UAC Offer Rounds (1 Viewer)

dannar

HSC
Hey guys, I haven't used this site for so long now, but I have a question and feel that someone here might be able to answer.

I called up USYD the other day and was told if a student wants to transfer from one course to another (from UNSW for example) that the higher out of both the ATAR and tertiary marks is considered. As a 2020 graduate, I have an ATAR, and was planning on transferring with it assuming it is higher than my tertiary grades now.

If I apply to UAC, will I get my offer in the round that USYD is offering courses, which is on the 8th of October (considering my ATAR meets the guaranteed entry threshold)? Or do I actually need to wait until ATARs are given out to get an offer? I hope someone can help me with this. Thank you 😊

jimmysmith560

Le Phénix Trilingue
HSC
Uni Grad
Technically, the fact that you already have an ATAR (which in this case is what UAC and USyd consider in terms of processing and assessing your application) would suggest that you should receive an offer for your chosen course on the 8th of October. It wouldn't make sense that you have to wait until 2021 ATAR's are released, because you are not in the same position as 2021 HSC students. Current year 12 students have to wait for their ATAR's to be released in order to be able to receive offers because their ATAR is what different universities will use to determine student entry. Without an ATAR, universities will not be able to assess applicants (excluding early entry schemes, for example those that assess applicants based on specific subject marks).

With that being said, I would suggest contacting UAC and determining whether or not this is actually the case.

I hope this helps! 😄

dannar

HSC