UNSW MBBS Enquiry (1 Viewer)

un 1

HSC
N/A
Before I write my query, i admit to being a total noob in relation to uni stuff and medicine.

I was just wondering,(actually I heard this from a friend), that you can complete the UNSW 6 year MBBS course in 5 years. is this true or what?

Wooz

^wooz*y^
HSC
Some units can be done in summer school but only 6 credit units and it's just basic theory, so you might have a reduced work load, but the last year is mainly clinical and you have to do certain rotations (inc a 3 month stint in a rural hospital) so i doubt it.

I know one guy who's doing med sci(hons)/MBBS at UNSW, stream that cut a year off though.

+Po1ntDeXt3r+

HSC
yeah but you can do that at Adelaide too..

and Melb will let u do that in 6.5 if u wanted..

Utas let ppl do that in 6 too in the old course

KFunk

Psychic refugee
HSC
LottoX said:
Maybe you're talking about the BSc (Med) Hons program, which lets you cut off half a year of research, however, that is in exchange for a 1 year research project, which would mean that you would undertake the course in 6.5 years.
Technically you should be able to do that in 6 years. I realise that they say 6.5, but I think it works out at 6 if you arrange things the right way.

KFunk

Psychic refugee
HSC
LottoX said:
Orsum, now to get a 75+ average and write present a killer proposal.
Are they bumping it up to a 75 average? (It still says 70 average for 2008 honours, though I think I missed one of the honours info nights... so I might be out of the loop. Thank god for my arts honours option!)

+Po1ntDeXt3r+

HSC
anonymus2003 said:
its 5 years of study and they force u to do one year of research in ur 3rd or 4th year, thats why unsw = 6 years and newcastle etc others only 5 years.
its actualli 0.5 yrs in UNSW.. apparently.. according to like Kfunk ages ago.. but i think that sounds right..

other unis lik Newcastle u do the minimum 0.3 yrs from the AMC.. but then u have options to do honours too..