urgent help needed >.<; (1 Viewer)

misericordia

Confused Member
HSC
Uni Grad
hi, i've got offers from unsw (b psychology) and macquni (b arts-psychology/b law).
which uni's got better reputation on psychology?
do you think that its better for me to have a back up (cuz i heard that entry into 4th year is really really competitive and that if i come out as undergrad, i cant get a decent job), like that double degree one @ macq uni? or would doing double degree in such demanding degrees kill me?
do you think that i'll find those degrees seriously difficult because im an international student? (i got mid band 5 in standard english but i have no idea how difficult these courses are going to be)
sorry for long questions, but i seriously need other poeple's opinions on this.

kitkatkittyau

HSC
1. Realisticaly rep should not matter, as long as the course is approved by the APS etc for membership. As far as I know within the Psych department the university you go to isnt as important as in the economic/law fields. It also depends on what you plan on doing with your psych degree, I've heard both Mac and UNSW are heavily researched focused.
- Out of the two though both a good for psych and are apparently better than USYD.
2. Its always good to have a back up, but usually with the B Psych if you keep up the GPA they are looking for you should have no problems getting into 4th year.
3. Double degrees are good options, if you are interesting and want to go into both areas. They also usually add a far chunk of time to your time at uni. Plus with the law ones correct me if i'm wrong are more focued on Law and not psych?
4. These degrees shouldnt be difficult because your an international student and even if you do find difficulities most university have student services which offer extra help.

Hope this helps. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Survivor39

Premium Member
HSC