what to expect in investment advisory/stockbroking (1 Viewer)

3li

HSC
N/A
hi guys

can any1 whose worked in broking and investment advisory share their experience and what to expect?

ive worked in tax/financial planning/accounting but i guess this is more advisory related. working at a place called dixona dvisory in their broking department.

im still an undergrad but it seems alot of their brokers are ps146 compliant, and other grad diplomas etc.while im stilla t uni.

my role specificaly is to prepare reports for some retail clients with a team of 4 of the market and sharemarket advice in general.

wuld just like some overview of the field and the pros and cons. im not sure about my hours yet but i heard its pretty standard.

also its been suggested to me to do ps146 as an undergrad (firm can pay for this). has ne1 done this as an undergrad. atm juggling 5 subjects and 3 days full time work - not sure if i can cope with another course.

Last edited:

velox

Retired
HSC
N/A
I assume you mean Dixon Advisory. Well you will need PS146 to give advice. Im not entirely sure what you are asking for the latter part of your post.

3li

HSC
N/A
i guess my question is - is there anyone that has done this course while at uni? or is it mainly something you do after you graduate.

i'm under the impression that my learning/growth will be limited here because i havent completed/do not intend to complete this course any time soon, and hence can't give advice (merely produce reports).

velox

Retired
HSC
N/A
3li said:
i guess my question is - is there anyone that has done this course while at uni? or is it mainly something you do after you graduate.

i'm under the impression that my learning/growth will be limited here because i havent completed/do not intend to complete this course any time soon, and hence can't give advice (merely produce reports).